Navigation

Your competent and creative partner for FEM simulation and consulting

FemStas is a dynamic engineering service provider that supports you in all challenges related to FEM simulation. Benefit from the experience of our simulation engineers and consultants during product development. The startup mentality gives us the flexibility we need to optimally implement your projects.

With FemStas you have the choice:

  • Do you want to have innovative simulations carried out cost-efficiently?
  • Do you need CAE support for a specific project?
  • Or are you interested in building up your knowledge in FEM?
Get your free initial consultation now!

Fields of application

The fields of application for simulations in product development are versatile. Our experience helps you to achieve the best possible results. We support you in all challenges!

Static mechanical simulation

Permissible stresses and strains must not be exceeded either during operation or during the production of components. By means of a stress analysis, we can optimally design your components and processes, such as when pressing a plastic sleeve into a steel housing. Care must be taken to ensure that no plastic deformation occurs and at the same time that the press-out forces of the fit meet the requirements. The description of the contact between the bodies has an outstanding significance in this context. Only if friction coefficients are determined precisely and surface properties are taken into account accordingly in the simulation a realistic calculation can be made.

In addition, the mechanical behavior of materials can be described differently. We simulate your components – whether made of metal or plastic.

Press fit simulation

Thermal analysis: Transient calculation of heating processes

Knowledge of the heating processes in components or groups is crucial, for example, in order to be able to select suitable materials for them.

Due to the time dependency, these processes cannot be simulated using a steady-state calculation; instead, a transient thermal analysis is used. For a realistic calculation, heat conduction, convection, thermal radiation or a combination of the above-mentioned heat transfer types must be taken into account in the model, depending on the application. The material data used also have a major influence on the calculation results. In the animation, for example, the plastic, which is enclosed by a steel block, heats up much more slowly than the steel

transient calculation: Heating process

Topology Optimization

Topology optimization is a calculation method from the field of structural optimization, with which the optimum shape of a component can be determined, considering the given boundary conditions (loads and restraints). In this way, a component design that is material-reduced but at the same time load-compatible can be derived from the available design space.

In the animation, for example, the stiffness of the component was maximized while maintaining a weight reduction of 35%.

In addition to the development of load-compliant structures, the optimization of dynamic component properties is also one of the areas of application of topology optimization. For example, by adapting the component shape, natural frequencies can be eliminated, which are to be expected during operation of the component.

Topology Optimization

Calculation of a snap connection

Snap connections are functional elements for the simple form-fit connection of components, whereby one component deforms elastically and then snaps into the other in a releasable or non-releasable manner. When designing the system, it is important to ensure that the corresponding holding force is sufficiently high to prevent unintentional separation of the components under load.

We are looking forward to support you with the design of your snap connections!

Calculation of a snap connection

Impact of a rubber ball on the ground

Explicit calculation methods are used for highly dynamic processes – for example, they allow the simulation of crash or drop tests. This provides an initial indication of whether components meet the requirements or whether design adjustments are necessary even before the first prototype tests are carried out.

Impact of a rubber ball on the ground

Navigation

Ihr kompetenter und kreativer Partner für FEM-Simulation und Consulting

FemStas ist ein dynamischer Engineering Service Provider, der Ihnen bei sämtlichen Herausforderungen rund um das Thema FEM-Simulation zur Seite steht. Profitieren Sie bei der Produktentwicklung von der Erfahrung unserer Simulationsingenieure und Berater. Die Startup-Mentalität gibt uns die nötige Flexibilität, Ihre Projekte optimal umzusetzen.

Bei FemStas haben Sie die Wahl:

  • Wollen Sie kosteneffizient innovative Simulationen durchführen lassen?
  • Benötigen Sie CAE Support in einem bestimmten Projekt?
  • Oder sind Sie daran interessiert, Ihr Wissen im Bereich FEM aufzubauen?
Jetzt kostenfreie Erstberatung einholen!

Anwendungsfelder

Die Anwendungsfelder für Simulationen in der Produktentwicklung sind vielseitig. Unsere Erfahrung hilft Ihnen, bestmögliche Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Wir unterstützen Sie bei sämtlichen Herausforderungen!

Statisch-mechanische Simulation

Zulässige Spannungen und Dehnungen dürfen weder im Betrieb noch bei der Produktion von Komponenten überschritten werden. Mittels einer Spannungsanalyse können wir Ihre Bauteile und Prozesse optimal auslegen, wie z.B. beim Einpressen einer Kunststoffhülse in ein Stahlgehäuse. Dabei ist darauf zu achten, dass keine plastische Deformation auftritt und zugleich die Auspresskräfte der Passung den Anforderungen entsprechen. Der Beschreibung des Kontaktes zwischen den Körpern kommt dabei eine herausgehobene Rolle zu. Nur wenn Reibbeiwerte genau bestimmt und Oberflächeneigenschaften in der Simulation entsprechend berücksichtigt werden, kann eine realitätsnahe Berechnung erfolgen.

Zudem ist bei Werkstoffen das mechanische Materialverhalten unterschiedlich zu beschreiben. Wir simulieren Ihre Bauteile – egal ob aus Metall oder Kunststoff.

Einformsimulation

Thermische Analyse: Transiente Berechnung von Aufwärmvorgängen

Die Kenntnis über den Verlauf von Aufwärmvorgängen in Bauteilen oder- gruppen ist entscheidend, um beispielsweise geeignete Materialien für diese auswählen zu können.

Aufgrund der zeitlichen Abhängigkeit können diese Vorgänge nicht anhand einer stationären Berechnung abgebildet werden, sondern es kommt eine transient-thermische Analyse zum Einsatz.  Für eine realitätsnahe Berechnung muss hierfür je nach Anwendungsfall Wärmeleitung, Konvektion, Wärmestrahlung oder eine Kombination aus den genannten Wärmeübertragungsarten in der Simulation berücksichtigt werden. Auch die verwendeten Materialdaten haben großen Einfluss auf die Berechnungsergebnisse. In der Animation erwärmt sich beispielsweise der Kunststoffstrang, welcher von einem Stahlblock umschlossen ist, deutlich langsamer als der Stahl.

transiente Berechnung: Aufheizvorgang

Topologieoptimierung

Die Topologieoptimierung ist ein Berechnungsverfahren aus dem Bereich der Strukturoptimierung, mit welchem die optimale Gestalt eines Bauteils unter Berücksichtigung der gegebenen Randbedingungen (Lasten und Festhaltungen) ermittelt werden kann. So kann aus dem zur Verfügung stehenden Bauraum ein materialreduziertes aber sogleich lastgerechtes Bauteildesign abgeleitet werden.

In der Animation wurde beispielsweise die Steifigkeit des Bauteils unter Einhaltung einer Gewichtsreduzierung von 35 % maximiert.

Neben der Entwicklung von belastungsgerechten Strukturen gehört auch die Optimierung der dynamischen Bauteileigenschaften zu den Einsatzgebieten der Topologieoptimierung. Beispielsweise können durch die Anpassung der Bauteilgestalt Eigenfrequenzen eliminiert werden, welche im Betrieb des Bauteils zu erwarten sind.

Topologieoptimierung

Berechnung einer Schnappverbindung

Schnappverbindungen sind Funktionselemente zum einfachen formschlüssigen Fügen von Bauteilen, wobei sich eine Komponente elastisch verformt und sich anschließend lösbar oder unlösbar in der anderen verhakt. Bei der Auslegung ist unter anderem darauf zu achten, dass entsprechende Haltekraft ausreichend groß ist, sodass sich die Komponenten bei Belastung nicht ungewollt voneinander lösen.

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Auslegung Ihrer Schnappverbindungen!

Berechnung einer Schnappverbindung

Aufprall eines Gummiballs auf den Boden

Explizite Berechnungsverfahren kommen bei hochdynamischen Prozessen zum Einsatz – so erlauben sie beispielsweise die Simulation von Crash- oder Fallversuchen. Dadurch kann bereits vor ersten Prototypenversuchen eine erste Aussage darüber getroffen werden, ob Bauteile den Anforderungen entsprechen oder konstruktive Anpassungen erforderlich sind.

Aufprall eines Gummiballs auf den Boden